Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Nov 4, 2009, 6:38 AM   #1

Default Top of the heap right now?

Hi, I'm new to camcorders. I care only about one thing, best Video image quality while being handheld and under $250.00. It does not matter if it does stills at all.

Quality to me, is accurate color reproduction and at least a decent attempt at auto white balance. High dynamic range, details in shadow, great in low light without being too noisy. Sharpness is a given, I want it tack sharp. Image stabilizer would be great, if it didn't turn the video soft.
I would pick great video over great audio.

There are just so many to choose from today, I don't even know where to begin to look. You guys will know...

Thanks
Joe
Jlacy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2009, 7:37 AM   #2

The Kodak Zi8 is probably your best bet, as I think it meets all of your objectives. Just be sure to load the latest firmware from Kodak on it (version 1.06 as of this writing) when you get it.

For an excellent standard definition camcorder with real optical zoom and autofocus, look for the Canon FS200 on sale in the $250 range. It easily outperforms competitors from Panasonic, JVC, and Sony, and for standard definition, the video image is surprisingly crisp, even in low light. It has a stereo external microphone jack, too, unlike any of its price-class rivals except the aforementioned Kodak Zi8.
vwestlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 8:02 AM   #3

Thanks, I think 720p/1080p would be fine. I've been looking at the Kodak, Vado, Dgx and Aiptek.

I will be using it for moving subjects. Dogs working cattle and sheep. Dog agility, Frisbee shows etc. Some of the footage will be indoors and I would like to do as little is post processing as possible.