Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Dec 10, 2009, 6:35 PM   #1

Default Looking for an inexpensive camcorder to record classical music concerts

Hello all. I'm a classical pianist and as the title says, I'm in need of a decent camcorder with a good sound quality to record my concerts. I already have a MD recorder, but it'd also be nice if my camcorder could record a decent sound. At first I've been thinking about buying the Aiptek AHD Z700 (GVS) because it has a mic input but then I read that it's mono. GC10 from Sanyo seems pretty nice but it doesn't support an external mic. Test videos had a pretty nice sound though. I also thought about getting Canon FS200. It has a mic input but it can't shoot HD videos. I don't know if I'd want to buy a SD camcorder.. So what would you recommend? I'm really stuck in between and would really appreciate your comments. Any other models are welcome too!

By the way, thanks for this great site!
kandemirb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 10, 2009, 7:53 PM   #2

Welcome aboard kander....

1 Aiptek action HD GVS / z700

2 Kodak zi8 ext mic port stereo, with a gain control to raise up/down volume, int is mono, ext is stereo.

3 creative labs vado gen 3 is not hd1080P but 720P with a ext mic , unsure of it being stereo or mono, as it was just debuted a week or so ago,

those are the three, and I say No. 2 is up as a stickie look at the cam. kodak zi8 with a ext aftermarket mic you'll be Amazed.
Old Dec 11, 2009, 4:53 AM   #3

Kodak Zi8 seems really nice and I like it a lot but compared to Z700 it doesn't have an optical zoom. Well either cam has its advantages, still can't decide. By the way, what was the reason you ruled out the Sanyo CG10? Is it because of the unreliable sound quality?

Thanks!
Old Dec 11, 2009, 5:32 AM   #4

sound quality of the cg10 is great
but it doesnt have mic input.