Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Jan 8, 2010, 7:50 PM   #1

Default Total Newb looking for some help plz

Hi All,

I am a fisherman, not a video guy...that's my disclaimer
Anyway, I want to produce relatively simple, but hi-def video's to embed in my fishing website. For an example, see here: http://drewgregory.com/go/videos

I've contacted Drew (the owner of that website) and he told me that he primarily uses the Aiptek HD in 720 (60FPS). So, I bought one of those, the GVS model, to be exact. He uses a MAC and is able to edit the native .MOV files and post them in HD through Vimeo.

I am a PC user and don't own a MAC.

Can anyone please help to get me started? Here are the few questions that I know to ask...I'm probably missing many:

- is there software that I can use to edit the .MOV file natively on a PC, or do I need to convert it?
- if I convert to some other format, what is best format to maintain the fidelity of the original file?
- is there a file format that is best for Vimeo and/or for embedding the Vimeo HD files into a website?

I really hope someone can help me...I'm like a fish out of water

Thanks in advance!
tarsky68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 9, 2010, 11:28 AM   #2

Welcome aboard tarsk....

You Own exactly what model the GVS, or the AHD+. I thought you said Aiptek ActionA-HD plus

Now that I got that cleared away.

Lets try to keep it on a Porgies level here. Till we can get to a groupers level. lol. sad to hear the banning of grouper, but with the regulations, today for reasons.

1 windows should be up to speed, if it is a slow pc, then its going to be a struggle.

Here goes.

Magix movie edit pro 12,14,15 there are plus versions of them, that is what I own..

All are offered free. ways to get them are. frys.com, sales require rebates. Ownership of other softwares. if not then you pay still less,, or full, your decision.