Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Jan 23, 2010, 3:39 PM   #1

Default I need to read up on filming resolutions were from please.

Hi guys I am a newbie at digi cams and need to read up on filming resolutions, and the best ones to use for best use of memory usage and end quality when burning to a DVD from a standalone DVD recorder, anybody where I can do some home work,

My digi cam has lots of resolution setting but I am not sure of which ones are best for the likes of youtube or for playback to watch on the home LCD TV,

We are om PAL over here in the UK.

Nick.
nickjaxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2010, 5:47 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Just moved this to our hybrid section where our movie experts hang out.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2010, 6:18 PM   #3

Welcome board nick,

a cam no matterwhat cam it is, we love to know? example I use the kodak zi8.

The kodak zi8 films in hd1080p, 720p, and wvga I use magix, pinn and arcsoft/

now you have some info ofwhat I sue and can say that is enough info to get me started.

so
1 your cam

2 your software , editor or movie program?

Personal video for Home:

we shoot at the Highest res. so when you wantto save, edit, and burn you will do this at the highest

hd1080P loaded to a editor. and burn dv-avi a dvd disk.

when you do just that it isset att he highest quality.

if you render down to quicktime 1920x1080, it is still the same highq quality

one is for pc windows, the other Macantosh, one is old, the other newer.

now if you save to hd720P, its still a dvd quality but not at best you still beable to enjoy because all dvd players are at 720x480 res and up

these are the only two settings i go as low for a personal video dvd player.

for online, remember it may work for you, but not for others, each person has their budget one will have fiber connection, while others still on dial up.....