Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Aug 29, 2006, 6:14 PM   #1

Is the Sony Cybershot the best digital camera/ movie taker ?

I'm looking for a camera that takes good pictures and records solid movies. I'm a leader ofa student organization on my campus and I want to capture some of our performances on video, obviously I do not have the money for a camcorderbecause I'm a broke college student. I need a hybrid, somethin takes great pictures and solid movies (Meaning record up to the size of my memory stick).

Thanks
Marvin88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2006, 7:55 PM   #2

First a welcome aboard

sony Cybershot is a neat expensive toy

compare a digital camcorder to a hbrid you may want to check out a sanyo exacta c6 or its latest one's they start at around 400.00usc

but if you want to get your handsdirty the enexpensive way any brand you desire

DXG Umax,audiovox mustek aiptek digilife ispan

they willdo the same thing, work?

my suggestion to you

the cheapest model found is within a few lines down

the aiptek dv5500 at 45.00 usc 10 percent of theprice of a sony:G
fishycomics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2006, 10:13 PM   #3

Sony Cyber-Shot is their generic name for a range of cameras not just one model. I am assuming though that you mean the M1?

For that price, as fishycomics said, you may want to check out the Sanyo Xacti's as they seem to have the best reputation for video quality among these types of devices.

You say you can't afford a Camcorder but for that money you can get a pretty decent miniDV that would be easier to edit. Of course their picture taking ability is usually pathetic even compared to budget digital cameras. It all depends on which is more important. I am assuming that you need both which is why you are looking at the hybrids.