Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Kodak Pro dSLR

Old Oct 7, 2005, 5:06 PM   #1

Good day to you all,

New member saying Hi !

I have just received my 'new' (actually used)kodak DCS 760, what a peice of kit!

Many years ago as an avid amateur photographer, I owned a Nikon F3, that was a superb camera, but with the new digital age, cameras have got so advanced, I fear it has taken all the fun out of 'real photography'.

Please someone, tell me I'm wrong.

CI-Trader is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2005, 5:58 PM   #2

you are wrong

set all the camera options to manual including turn off auto focus

have fun with your new toy

NO CHEATING
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2005, 6:41 PM   #3

Hi bernabeu

I new you'd say that .... I asked for it I guess :?

I just downloaded the user manual in PDF format and printed it (all 270 pages of it!) even though the Kodak DCS 760 has been discontinued, the support for it seems to be quite good. And the latest software and firmware also still available.

I'm still a little confused about the lenses though, I have a AF 35-70 that I use on my Nikon D1, that I will be using on the DCS 760 for the time being, will this affect the metering?

I will be purchasing new lenses, but which ones do I buy?

The user manual lists all the nikkor lenses that can be used on this model (just about all the lenses that Nikon ever produced) however, I want to stick to the recomended ones. I notice that on the list, some lenses are preceeded with a 'D' would this indicate that they are disgned specifically for digital SLR's, with full metering capabilities?
Old Oct 8, 2005, 7:00 AM   #4

don't know about the kodak/nikon 'D' designation

don't forget your 1.3x multiplier (a 100mm lens becomes a 130mm lens due to the smaller 'film') - this is a good thing as you are always shooting through the 'sweet spot'