Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Oct 8, 2006, 7:18 PM   #1

This is my first attempt for a moon picture. I have been inspired by all the great moon shots I have seen on this board. Next time I'll have to set up the tripod I just bought. Thanks for looking.

Ann

hockeyrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 8, 2006, 7:21 PM   #2

Nice pictures, very sharp !!

Maybe just a little bit overexposed ... But its very good for a first try :-)

Boily

Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 7:33 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. I don't know what overexposed means. Could you explain so I could learn what I'm doing wrong? I'm afraid I need to study the more technical aspects of photography. Thanks for helping me out with that.

Ann
Old Oct 8, 2006, 9:17 PM   #4

Ann, shooting the moon is almost like taking a daytime photo! If you use Manual mode you can set the shutterspeed at 1/500 th of a second and the arperture or f/stop around f/5. Over exposure means that either the shutter speed was too slow or the arperture or F/stop was set at too low a number. Either one of those will cause the photo to be over-exposed or you could say too much light was allowed in and caused the photo to be too light! If you find the photo to be too light or bright then you can change the shutter speed to a faster one or the F/ stop to a higher F/stop!

In other words the shutterspeed I gave you was 1/500 but if the photo is too bright or light you can increase the shutter speed to 1/750. If this is still leaving the photo too bright then increase the shutter speed to 1/1000th of a second!