Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 31, 2006, 6:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

2
Attached Images
 
Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 6:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

Does it answer your question ?
Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 8:48 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks,* it looks like the simple PC cord is the most cost-effective way to take the flash off-camera.* ** *David.
imacdv50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 9:01 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

Yes, it is :-)
Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 11:12 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
inneyeseakay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,379
Default

I think the original question involved getting the P20 off the camera, while maintaining the ability to "TALK" to the camera. Their are cables made for Nikon (that I know of) that are basically hot shoe extention cables that retain the TTL capabilities and I was wondering if anyone had tried to use them with a Kodak camera and P20.
inneyeseakay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 6:54 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

With the cables I am using, I am able to set to power of the flash !
Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 8:09 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
inneyeseakay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,379
Default



What you have works, but I think that what imacdv50 was looking for was something like this. "a coiled cord with a dedicated hot shoe on each end, so that the camera would still talk to the flash" I too am rather interested in this, even though I don't have a P20, I think it would be cool to find out if you can put it on a bracket and still have the 880/850/712 "talk" to the flash.
inneyeseakay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 12:26 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

I have the exact same thing you show on the picture !!

But mine is 16' long

My pc cord is connected to an hot shoe adapter !


Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 12:30 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

My setup is one 16' pc cord and 2 hot shoe adapter !!

One hot shoe adapter that goes on the hot shoe of the camera ...

And I connect my external flash on the other pc shoe adapter ...

And the 2 adpaters are connected to my pc cord !

The p850 can ''talk'' to the flashes with this setup :-)

I talked for a long time with a guy that was working at the camera shop I bought my things


Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 8:38 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Not to put too fine a point on it, a PC sync cable has two wires and only tells the flash to fire. My P880 hot shoe has four pins plus ground contact. A fully dedicated cable will need to have the same five contacts (in the right places) on each end for full auto camera control.* * *David
imacdv50 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:16 AM.