Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 8, 2006, 10:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Hello,

I installed the Kodak Easyshare software that came with my C330 camera. I don't use it often, and therefore have no need for it to start automatically when the computer boots up (Windows XP Pro). I can't find any setting in the Easyshare software that allows me to switch off this option, so at the moment when the computer boots upI manually right click the icon in the startup try to shut it down. It is annoying having to do this. Is there a turn-offoption for this in the software? Using MSConfig it can be unchecked from starting, but this seems to cause problems, as other programs in startup are affected - or maybe I am not using MSConfig correctly.

Thanks,

Yallourn
yallourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 8, 2006, 11:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mtclimber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 18,143
Default

yallourn-

Why not uninstall the program. That is what I did.

MT/Sarah
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2006, 11:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 4,036
Default

I've been using msconfig to adjust my startup since Win98 first edition and have yet to cause a problem. Maybe you could be more specific about what you have unchecked and what problems you are having.

If a program doesn't have a setting to not put the icon on the tray then preventing it from starting is the only way I know of to eliminate the icon. You might try looking up all of the entries you unchecked in this list. It has cautions for specific entries. http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php


slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2006, 9:31 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Problem solved.

I have unchecked Kodak EasyShare software, and Kodak software updater in MsConfig (Win XP Pro), and rebooted the computer. A pop-up message about switching from Normal to Selective Startup appeared, but allI had to do was uncheck thispop-up toprevent it from appearing every time the computer is booted. (This pop-up didn't appear in Win 98, before my recent computer and Windows upgrade; the Selective Startup simply took place automatically, with no scary warning messages on bootup.) Everything seems to be OK. The idea now wouldbe tostart EasyShare immediately prior to uploading pics from the camera to hard disc, but to leave it dormant the rest of the time.

Thanks for all responses.

Yallourn
yallourn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:00 PM.