Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 5, 2007, 3:42 PM   #1
Member
 
wolfgangw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Greetings to all P880 users,

I just got me a Kodak P880. Very nice cam. The lens is magnificent.
Now for my question:
The manual says there is a Setup Setting for the Flash where one can select if the internal and the external flash, or only the external flash fires. I searched the menu of my cam over and over but there is no menu setting for the flash behavior! Is there some special trick??

Greetings from Mannheim/Germany

Wolfgang Wolters

p.s. excuse my poor english:-)
wolfgangw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 6, 2007, 5:28 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

wolfgangw wrote:
Quote:
Greetings to all P880 users,

I just got me a Kodak P880. Very nice cam. The lens is magnificent.
Now for my question:
The manual says there is a Setup Setting for the Flash where one can select if the internal and the external flash, or only the external flash fires. I searched the menu of my cam over and over but there is no menu setting for the flash behavior! Is there some special trick??

Greetings from Mannheim/Germany

Wolfgang Wolters

p.s. excuse my poor english:-)
Wolfgand, the answer is not obvious by reading the manual. It is quite simple....attach P20 and if you want P20 external flash only do NOT flipopen the onboard internal flash cover....if you want P20 external and onboard internal then DO flip open the flash cover (make sure you have the proper flash setting that you want to use -- Auto, Fill, etc).

Regards, John...
jpfromoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 7:48 AM   #3
Member
 
wolfgangw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Dear John,

thank you for your reply.

If I got this, then this external/internal thing works only with the original Kodak P-20 flash. Then why is (was) there this menu setting? If I connect my external Philips flash to the sync connector I have to open the internal flash otherwise the external won't fire. But if i open the internal flash, they fire both. This behavior would make the menu setting sensible. Is there an extra menu setting only if I attach the original flash? This would be a bad thing.

Greetings from Mannheim/Germany

Wolfgang Wolters
wolfgangw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2007, 5:24 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

wolfgangw wrote:
Quote:
Dear John,

thank you for your reply.

If I got this, then this external/internal thing works only with the original Kodak P-20 flash. Then why is (was) there this menu setting? If I connect my external Philips flash to the sync connector I have to open the internal flash otherwise the external won't fire. But if i open the internal flash, they fire both. This behavior would make the menu setting sensible. Is there an extra menu setting only if I attach the original flash? This would be a bad thing.

Greetings from Mannheim/Germany

Wolfgang Wolters
Wolfgang, I looked again and can't find any setting in the manual. Anyway, I only use a P20. I do believe other people have used other external flashes without the internal flash being open. I think Mike O'Brien from Kodak has discussed this on the Dpreview.com Kodak Talk forum. Unfortunately, the Dpreview search function is not working right now. Once it is working, perhaps you can search Dpreview Kodak Talk forum using either "p880 external flash" or "p880 slave flash" search terms. Hope this helps. John...
jpfromoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2007, 2:13 PM   #5
Member
 
wolfgangw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Dear John,

many thanks for your help.

I made a mistake. I thought, similar to the behavior of my Caplio GX, the Sync Connector would not send a Signal to the external Flash if there is no Flash program used in the Camera. This is false. There is a Signal for the Flash everytime the Shutter is released, regardless of the settings in the Camera. So my problem is solved thanks to a guy that posted a reply to my question in a german forum (http://forum.penum.de/showthread.php?id=39053). So the Caplio GX is the exception regarding this behavior. Most other Cameras seem to behave like the P880.

Thanks once more

Greetings from Mannheim/Germany

Wolfgang Wolters
wolfgangw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2007, 11:05 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Mike O'Brien did comment on this in the DPReview forums. As I remember, there is such as setting on the P850, but not on the P880. I belive there was a clerical error in the early P880 manuals that mentioned a menu setting, but there is none.

I've used both the P20 and an external flash with the P880. Both work well with no menu settings.
dsmjbeal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:08 AM.