Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Aug 5, 2007, 5:38 PM   #1

Hello everybody.

Newbie here.

Im looking at the z 612 and z 712.

I am looking at doing some photography in the woods and think these would be good options because of the zoom. Are these a good choice for this app?

Why is the 612 the same price as the 712 on Kodaks website ? Isnt the 712 the newer model?

The local Ciruit city has the 612 for 165.96 . Is it worth it to spend the extra cash to get the 712?

Thanks for any replies.
Manray is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 5, 2007, 10:42 PM   #2

The main functional differences between the Z612 and the Z712 is the 712 adds an in-camera panoramic stitching capability and a higher ISO capability, at least some of which is usable. Of course the Z712 has another MP but that's of little significance.

The Z612, on the other hand includes a charger and a rechargeable battery that must be purchased extra on the Z712 and that rechareab;e battery is the preferred power source for either camera.

That Circuit City price for the Z612 is less than the price for a Kodak refurbished 612. Both cameras are excellent and whatever price you pay for either is a bargain considering the performance.

Now, which is better for you? What do you take pictures of in the wood, large wildlife, small wildlife, insects, flowers or? The cameras are very near equal and only if it is fairly dark does the z712 have a bit of an advantage.
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2007, 10:48 PM   #3

Manray-

Yes, indeed the Kodak Z-712 is worth the extra cash. Why you might ask? Because the Z-712 can very effectively operate at much higher ISO settings than the Z-612. That is very worthwhile thinking about.