Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Feb 25, 2008, 1:14 AM   #1

I just bought a new Kodak Z812is camera after doing a lot of research. It does everything I want it to, and in the last couple days owning it, I find it does something Id rather it didnt. And of course, Kodak support is totally useless.

Now I should let you know that I'm not totally new to digital cameras, I have purchased 5 since 1999. Toshiba, Fuji, Olympus, Canon and now this Kodak. I've also shot 35 and medium format film since the early 70's and had a complete color & bk/wht darkroom in my house for years. Im not a pro, but Im not a novice either.

The first problem occurred just hours after getting the camera. I read through the "manual" for lack of better word. Its not very informative. I went to their website as the manual suggest for more info. I download the PDF. It was just a pdf of the same manual, and most of the online stuff is more of the same. Anyway, after shooting some photos I wanted to put them on my laptop. First of course I install the provided software. Just incase there are some cool options I might like that I wont know about due to the lack of info in the manual. Then I plug the Kodak supplied USB into the Z812is and then plug it into my now 9 month old Acer Aspire 5100-3583 laptop. I turn on the camera and nothing. As I start to look in the manual with little hope of finding anything useful, I smell something strange. I sniff the camera, then down by the USB port on my laptop, which was quickly followed by a abruptly pulling the USB cable from the laptop, and then the camera. I sniffed the computer end of the USB cable and it smelled of smoldering plastic, but appeared in good shape. I then used my sniffer around the camera and it smelled , new. The side USB port on my laptop smelled horrible.