Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Apr 25, 2008, 4:56 PM   #1

Hi.

I recently had a spyware problem on my PC. After this, easyshare no longer worked properly. It won't uninstall from add/remove. When I try, I get a message that says "Unable to complete task, error code...blah". I followed this error code link and it suggested downloading a "clear utility", which I did...but it didn't work. Specifically, when it started up it would say "click on arrow to begin", but there was never an arrow!

I have also tried reinstalling from disk. This hangs constantly, usually at about 80%

I had no real problems transferring photos or videos before this, but after that would hang constantly as well. My OS is XP, and my camera is Kodak Easyshare Z612

Is there a procedure for removing this manually.

I am not sure if all problems associated with the sypware are removed from my PC as I am not an expert, but I would like to try to uninstall this program and then reinstall it to see if that will work.
lightpanther is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 26, 2008, 3:56 AM   #2

Buy a cheap card reader, and forget Easyshare! I and many others have said this many times in these forums.

Perhaps Easyshare is fine if everything goes well, but I installed it when I bought my Kodak Z712 a year ago, got into difficulties, rubbed it out, bought a very cheap USB card reader, and have been delighted with the camera ever since. I feel very loyal to Kodak as a result, but deplore their marketing policy. They've got into deep water and lost customers over 'lock you in' battery systems, as well as software.