Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Apr 15, 2009, 7:02 PM   #1

Our Sony DSC-P200 disappeared some months ago, and it hasn't shown up since, so I decided this is a good time to buy a new camera. After spending some evenings reading reviews here at Steve's, I thought the Kodak Z980 would be the best cam for us, providing the best blend of still pics and movies. I know it is always a risk to buy a brand new model, and I have no experience with Kodak yet, but the Z1012 IS got a good review, so I bit the bullet and ordered the Z980.

It arrived today, but when I opened the box and inspected the camera, to my horror I noticed two little white specks of whatever it is, sitting just beneath the surface of the lens, about 3/4 towards the edge of the lens, plus some more additional pinsized similar white dots. There is no way to clean them away, they are really underneath the top lens. I took some photos to see if they are visible, and I could not find any consistent spots of bluriness in my pictures, not even at full wide-angle, where I suppose they will be most visible.

Anyway, I didn't like it at all, so I called Kodak's helpdesk, where a lady said I could return it to the shop. Which in my case means shipping it from Belgium to France, but I guess I will do it anyway, I just hate the idea of receiving an expensive new device with a visible defect.

I only took a few pictures, and made a few movies, and I'm not a pro, but there were some things I quickly liked about the Z980, and some things I didn't.

I liked the wide angle (26mm is WIDE), the zoom (24x is a LOT), and the big, high-resolution display. I didn't like the viewfinder display however, it has a blue halo and the image looks blue too.