Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Jan 22, 2011, 6:34 PM   #1

Default Kodak Z981 discontinued?

Hi everyone. I've been lurking around for a while and decided to register. I've been coming to Steve's Digicams off and on for a long time now. I use it as my main source for stuff like this.

Anyway, I have been looking at superzooms for quite a while now. Actually, I've been doing it off and on for like three years now. I thought I had settled on the Z981, but wasn't ready at the time. At the time Amazon had it for about $180. That was back during the holidays. Well, they have not had it in stock since. I really only want to order from Amazon or NewEgg, but NewEgg doesn't have it either. NewEgg had it around the time Amazon did for $180, but when it went out of stock (and when it showed up back in stock) it skyrocketed to $289. I don't want to do a "fulfilled by Amazon" thing, either. My budget is really around $200. I know it doesn't leave much room, but from my reading in this price range the Z981 is the preferred choice. Since Amazon (or NewEgg) hasn't had it in a while, I have been wondering if it has been discontinued?
JayC_783 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 22, 2011, 11:23 PM   #2

Jay-

Yes, when Kodak announced their new EasyShare Max at the CES show, the Z981 was discontinued. In that price range your best option is to consider the Panasonic FZ35 which is nearing the end of its run. Amazon now has it at $239.95, but 10 days ago it was down to $219.95. So you can see the price does float a bit.

The FZ35 has had great reviews and is very much a loved camera by thousands of users. As the remaining inventory of FZ35's is being sold out, the price has seemed to rise and fall based on the remaining inventory.