Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Jul 13, 2004, 12:38 PM   #1

I've liked myKodak DX3600 and I'm ready to upgrade. Things I didn't like: little to no optical zoom, slow startup and shutter lag, and small mps.

The new camera will be used for lots of shots of children, inside, outside, sports, vacation vistas. I'm not very experienced shooting so I rely a lot on cropping and use Adobe Photoshop to fix pictures(crop, clone, etc.). I can'tspend over $500. I really liked that the 6490 hasgreat 10x, plus it's EVF, however,heard the shutter lag is really slow. With kids, I need quick shots (is it really that bad?). For my cropping, I thought the 7630 sounded great with its 6mps, however, it only has a 3x optical! The new 7440 seems nice and has lots of good options (i.e. fast), even though it's a 4x optical (that's still a step up for me).

I like that 7630 & 7440 are more compact but because of many of the 6490's features, I'd gladly deal with it's more square design if I thought it wouldtake faster pics. I usually only print 4x6 & 5x7's but have occasions to print 8x10's as well. If I got some great shots of the kids or vistas I'd like to do11x14.

Any suggestions out there between these three? I'm leaning more toward the 7440 & the 6490. Not expecting someone to make my decision but thought you experienced ones could point out what might be better for my amateur situation (want to become more creative and experienced on photography, so need a little growing room camera). Thanks!! Bperk:bye:

bperk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2004, 3:44 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum.

Brian will probably answer this better than I will, but here goes.

Firstly the DX6490 - I have one.

The x10 lens isgood for getting shots of birds/animals that don't want you in their space, but the focus doestake it's time and there is a noticeable shutter lag.

Now the DX7440.