Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Jul 14, 2004, 8:02 PM   #1

Hey all, my camera finally arrived! yay! But, after taking a few test shots inside and outdoors, I noticed that the overall color tends to the blue-grey... Green is hit hard and everything looks a little washed out.

I tried it in PASM mode, changing AWB and ISO (nothing too drastic, I'm just learning), as well as changing the color mode to saturated, but it didn't make a difference... argh.Shades green really look more like faded turquiose than the vivid color I see with my own eyes.

Has anyone else noticed this with theirs, or could this camera be malfunctioning?

Any thoughts? I'm really frustrated as I liked everything about this camera, especially the color!

Thanks,

Arashi
Arashi_sama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 14, 2004, 8:11 PM   #2
Administrator

Are you viewing the photos on your monitor, or just looking at the cameras's LCD display?

BTW, color accuracy is normally a function of White Balance. In most conditions Auto White Balance works fine. However, in complex lighting, you must often set it to one of the preset value that matches up to the lighting you are taking the photo in.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2004, 3:53 AM   #3

Could you post an example for us to see.

Cheers, Paul.
Cold Snail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2004, 8:30 AM   #4

Yes, I can do that this evening...

I played around a little more with the AWB settings, but I get the same type of results. The daylight setting looks a little better, but all the colors (especially green) have a blue-grey tint.

I also tried indoors/outdoors, lights on/off, sunny/cloudy (yesterday was bright and sunny and this morning it's cloudy) just to see if it was the light, but nope.

I will post some examples later today...

ttfn

Arashi
Old Jul 15, 2004, 11:00 AM   #5
Administrator