Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Oct 29, 2004, 5:17 PM   #1

Ok, i got a dx7440...I'm new to digiphoto's and know nothin about aperatures and shutter speeds and the such....

Im mostly doin close up photography of plants and plant matter and cannot get a clear close up with lots of detail (macro ?)

Could someone help a new bootie understand digiphotography?
2MUCHSMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 29, 2004, 6:20 PM   #2

Well the 7440 has the same macro button as the 6490 i own,,,i just push the

close-up/macro button (looks like a flower) and keep the camera on wide angle..i find it takes better close-ups if you do not zoom,,,just get really close,,,as close as you can without getting an AF red light...i can get a few inches away....

The main thing in macro is the closer the better,,,some people want to go into manual modes too and select a higher aperature (smaller opening but larger number),,this will give you more depth of field,but i do not,,,i want a shallow depth of field in my macro shots.....

Iuse full auto mode too usually,,,,the best time to take these shots is early morning before 10:30 and late afternoon,,,,,morning being the best..the reason is the plants if that`s what you are after,,,have had all night to regain from all the sun the day before,,and also the sun is a lot less harsh,,less reflections......

I have some nice macro shots at my online gallery if you like to look,,,,as well as other pics..

Brian

http://brianhare.fotopic.net/

And here`s a bee macro shot..... http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...0_9841bee2.jpg
brianhare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2004, 9:54 AM   #3

Brian,here is a picture I took adding the #4 close up lens,that I din't know I had to have !!!!!!! :O

Attached Images

smiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2004, 10:50 AM   #4