Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Dec 22, 2004, 11:04 PM   #1

Hi all,

Hello to agreat forum from a complete novice. I have read quite a few threads with regards to night time photography using the 6490 in manual modes which I have actually yet to try.

Question.Last Saturday night at a wedding reception, I was trying to take a photo of a couple standing in front of the Harbour Bridge (~2-300m away)in night mode. Basically, the flash was lighting up the people, however the lights from the bridge and surrounding city in the background were not being exposed. I actually took a photo using their Canon DC and it was smart enough to expose the lights of the bridge as well as light up the people in front of me. I would have thought, in that situation, the shutter would have opened first to get exposure from the lights on the bridge, then fire the flash to light up the subject. However all I ended up with were two really bright people on a black background! What sort of settings should I use in the future for this sort of thing?

Regards,
Paul
csevo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 23, 2004, 6:16 AM   #2

Check your manual for night mode......also you can go into M mode,,,set the aperature to 5.6 (so you get some depth of field),,,,set the shutter to 1/2 sec,,,,and set the flash to compulsory,,,this will fire the flash,,,,then leave the shutter open long enough to reveal the background too...you`ll have to experiment with settings though...it depends on how dark the background really is,,,and your subjects will have to remain still after the flash fires....settting the aperature to it`s lowest setting 2.8 will work well too but the detail in the background will not be as sharp,,,but in night shots you will not really see too much real detail anyway....

Brian

brianhare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2004, 12:04 PM   #3