Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Feb 5, 2005, 11:13 AM   #1

Hello all,

I'm a newbie who would greatly appreciate it if anyone can give me some advice whether it is worth purchasing the Kodak DX7590 model, especially now that price has come down. I've read numerous opinions on this model, both amateur and professional, and the common complaints seem torevolve around strong JPEG compression (is it that bad?), slow shutter speed between shots, lack of image stabilizer and autofocus. Despite the few negatives, I'm still willing to take a chance on this camera.Regarding the last two issues, if I don't use the full 10X zoom, say, only up to 8X, will images tend to come out less blurry andmore crisp and clear? What about the autofocus issue? Now that Kodak finally has addressed this problem, did it really solve the problem for those of you that own this model?

I'm actually torn betweenthe Kodak DX7590 camera and the Canon S1 IScamera. The BIG plus if I wastopurchase the Canon is the built in image stabilizer (why couldn't Kodak implement this feature in theircamera too? Would've been nice). Then again, the priceof the Canon hasn't dropped that much (camera is a year old now, has less megapixelsand is still selling for around $350-$399), thus I'm leaningmore towards the Kodak camera (higher level of megapixels, more new).

Thank you.BTW, this is a great forum. I definitely could learn a lot frommany of you on how to take great pictures.
mblue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 5, 2005, 11:46 AM   #2