Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Mar 21, 2005, 8:26 PM   #1

A few years back my wife bought me a DX4900 when they first came out. I really enjoyed it. Recently it was stolen, and now I want to replace it with another Kodak. I read *so* many reviews on *so* many websites, and all I am left with is a lot of confusion. I want to stick with Kodak, since I liked my old DX4900 so much. I'm an amateur...a point-and-shoot guy who *might* like to eventually spend some time learning more about taking nicer pictures. I take a lot of nature shots, some landscapes, and also indoor shots of my pets. Can you recommend a Kodak for me? I've read about the DX7440, DX6490, DX7590, etc and as I said, I'm confused about where to go from here. I want a reliable camera that takes sharp, clear shots automatically, but *may* want to get beyond auto-focus one day and possibly experiment a bit. Thanks for any help you can provide.
sgeidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 21, 2005, 8:40 PM   #2

Hi sgeidel,

Can't vouch for the 7440, but as for the 6490 or 7590, either one is an excellent choice. The 7590 has a few more bells and whistles on it. Clearer EVF, takes awesome pics and has a couple of different burst modes that can be useful. The 6490 does an excellent job though, it takes excellent pics and it has one feature that is sorely lacking on the 7590, the 6490 will go into sleep mode indefinately and can be woke up by a touch on the shutter, after 8 minutes the 7590 shuts down completely. small problem but annoying if your doing portrait or wildlife shots.

Either one will do the job.

Regards

Bob M
Bob Mevis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2005, 10:31 PM   #3