Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old May 13, 2005, 8:14 PM   #1

Good evening,all..I was trying out the sepia option on the camera's menu today and I see almost a circular effect on the photo?..is this what they call noise?..I'm still a noob when it comes to all the digital terms...or is it a focusing problem (on all the horizontal boards)?
lisa:?:
Attached Images

kashka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2005, 8:22 PM   #2

hmmm..first off..sorry..I apologise for the size of this!..secondly..the circular effect is not showing when I post it here??..Must be my program then.In the immortal words of Emily Letilla.."..never mind."
Old May 13, 2005, 8:39 PM   #3

I'm willing to bet it's the moire in the monitor image caused by the lines. In your viewing or editing software, zoom in -- the closer you get to 1:1 (100%), the less you should see this effect.

I don't know if the attached will show the effect on any monitor other than mine:

Attached Images

DGehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 8:43 PM   #4

DG,that's exactly what I see!...Thanks so much for the explanation.Now I won't panic when and if it happens next time..Thanks again!
lisa
Old May 13, 2005, 8:44 PM   #5

I'll bet DG is right, Lisa. Happens to me sometimes too. Nice shot by the way, I like those old buildings.

Bob
Bob Mevis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 8:56 PM   #6

Noise looks like blotches or like film grain from the days of yore. It usually shows up in dark areas or shadows.

The blotchy multicolor lumps in the magnified (and sharpened and lightened)detail below are noise.

This is from a long exposure test, 64 seconds at f/5.6 at 2:00 a.m. out my front window. The (white) window frame is lit by a 3 watt red night light 10 feet to the right and belowthe window. The odd furry like shape on the left is our orange-and-black longhaired cat, checking out early morning bird action.