Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Aug 18, 2005, 10:47 PM   #1

I BOUHGT THIS CAMERA LAST WEEK AND I FOUND THAT THE SHOT AND THE LENGTH OF MOVIE IS FAR LESSER/SHORTER THAN STATED IN THE MANUAL. FOR MOVIE MODE, WRITTEN IN THE MANUAL IS 1 MIN 43 SECS BUTACTUAL ONLY CAN TAKE MERELY 51SECS FOR THE INTERNAL MEMORY. I HAVE THE 1GB SD CARDAND ITCAN ONLY TAKE 38 MIN OF MOVIE (ACTUAL TESTED)COMPARE TO THE MANUAL STATED THAT FOR 512 MB SD CARD CAN TAKE UPTO 31 MIN 57 SEC AT 640 X 480 VGA. CHECK WITH KODAK DEALER, THE CAPACITY IS AN ESTIMATION BUT I THINK IT SHOULD NOT BE ONLY HALF OF THE LENGTH AS STATED IN THE MANUAL.
cheeheong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 19, 2005, 8:54 AM   #2

I am sorry that you are disappointed. I have no knowledge of how Apple does its Quicktime (.MOV) compression -- is itpossible that you would get more minutes of video with a different scene? In the JPEG compression for the photos, pictures with large expanses of similiar color are very much smaller in file size (and many more would fit on a memory card) than photos with many patterns and colors.

The video capabilities of Kodak digital cameras are not very advanced. New models are addressing many shortcomings (very small video size, and the fact you cannot zoom during video shooting). But I think most of us do not use the video capabilities of our Kodak digital cameras very much. In the long run, it may be better to apply the right tools to a need. Video cameras provide poor single photographs -- similarly, digital cameras do not provide very good video sequences.

(Also please note, and I mean no criticism of you here, in English there is a very large difference between lower case letters and capital letters. USING ALL CAPITALSIS SEEN AS SHOUTING and many people consider this impolite. On top of this, large areas of all capital letters are very hard for us to read...)

Cordially,
Dave
DGehman is offline   Reply With Quote