Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 11, 2005, 1:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

Is it possible to install the camera driver without the easyshare Program??
Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 11, 2005, 2:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
speaklightly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 721
Default

Here is what I did: I installed Easy Share, then the drivers, then removed Easy Share. It worked for me.

Sarah Joyce
speaklightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2005, 7:28 AM   #3
Member
 
bedde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 97
Default

I found drivers only for my DX6490 at http://www.driverguide.com.
Installed them and it works without having to install the Easyshare software.

Hope this helps.
bedde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 7:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
kashka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Minnedosa Manitoba
Posts: 1,158
Default

I dloaded mine off the net also..after taking pictures I just transfer from the camera to a new directory on the hard drive..I still have it of you are interested.:-)
lisa
kashka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 5:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Boily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,704
Default

if you could give me the link or the program I would really be happy:G:-)

Thanks
Boily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 6:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tom Overton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,458
Default

I may be sorely mistaken here, but I don't think you need any special software at all to connect your 6490 to your computer. I used EasyShare for about a year; it lengthend my computer's boot time and generally slowed down performanceacross the board. I replaced my hard drive in June, and instead of installing EasyShare, I just let the Windows Scanner and Camera Wizard, do the job. When I hit the send key on the camera dock, the Wizard asks what I want to do and where the pictures are to be stored, and if I want my pictures deleted when I'm finished. The process is quick and painless, and works flawlessly.

Just my two cents.

cheers,

Tom, on Point Pelee, Canada
http://tomoverton.myphotoalbum.com

Tom Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 7:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,299
Default

Tom's way works just fine.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Bob
Bob Mevis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 8:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 38
Default

Is'nt a card reader the easiest way?
quackagator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2005, 3:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 126
Default

I'm looking for some kind of firmware/software to change the 6490's in-camera compression to get bigger files. With SD storage prices falling and much larger chips available there's no need to compress 4 million pixels to sometimes less than 1MB when a 2-4MB file would give (even) better quality than we have already.

Has anyone come across such firmware for the 6490 ?

The original was (3:2) best quality pixels which amazingly came out as a 750K file! (probably because there is little color definition over most of the shot.)

The Schneider lenshas professional performance. It's a pity the storage program isn't up to the (potential) quality of the images going on to it.

Attached Images
 
maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2005, 4:24 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 696
Default

quackagator wrote:
Quote:
Is'nt a card reader the easiest way?
Yes it is quackagator, I like it the best.

Pablo
alandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:28 AM.