Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 12, 2005, 2:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

I was taking some moon shots last nite and noticed everyone I took in landscape mode was blurry.Normal mode was fine. I took many many shots jumping back n forth between normal+landscape with the same results. My only thought is I'm using "accessory lens focus"--maybe that throws off the landscape mode? If the weather cooperates I will try some more without acc lens focus and see what happens...Would like to hear any thoughts anyone has...All pics with dx7590, Tcon17, full digital zoom, tripod, and shutter release cable. #1 and 2- F5.6, 1/60, 100iso

#1 normal mode
Attached Images
 
dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 12, 2005, 2:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

# 2 same setting BUT landscape mode
Attached Images
 
dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2005, 2:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

# 3 +4 F 7.2, 1/60, 100iso...............

#3 normal mode
Attached Images
 
dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2005, 2:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

# 4 same setting BUT landscape mode


Attached Images
 
dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2005, 7:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,299
Default

That's wierd. Don't know what would be causing that.

Bob
Bob Mevis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2005, 7:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 696
Default

Dan, I don't know either but do like the first shot real well. What is the dope on your shutter release cable, i.e. did you buy it or make it?(am wondering if I can put one onmy 6490) Good luck with your shooting tonight.

Pablo
alandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2005, 8:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

dan279 wrote:
Quote:
My only thought is I'm using "accessory lens focus"--maybe that throws off the landscape mode?
Quote:
...All pics with dx7590, Tcon17,
Hi Dan, I think it's normal what you got. I don't know what "accessory lens focus" settings does, but set to "landscape mode" sets the camera focus to fixed infinity, which is not "focused" anymore because of the TCon17 add on.
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 12:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
bigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thach Alabama
Posts: 14,981
Default

Wut he sed Dan!!

Dawg
bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 2:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

Kcan+ Big Dawg, thanks, you were right...the Tcon throws off the landscape mode focusing....Won't bore you with the pics but I tried with Tcon, "acc lens focus" both on and off in landscape mode and normal mode. "acc lens focus" didn't matter one way or the other.However, landsape mode doesn't seem to focus with the Tcon regardless of other settings. And landscape mode does work fine without the Tcon...My conclusion: Don't use landscape mode with the Tcon...anyone else experimented with this?

Pablo, thanks. The shutter release cable bracket can't be bought, Mine is a genuine BigDawg model that is priceless. I also have a couple that I made that are variations on Bob Mevis'. If you are handy, you can make one. I'll give you links to some old posts of BigDawgs and Bobs

Dan


dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 2:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

Pablo heres Bob's bracket http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...+release+cable

And heres Dawg's http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...+release+cable

Dont be afraid to experiment. I varied Bob's using 1/8 steel stock 3/4" wide which I simly bent in a vise, wasn't able to find shaft collars locally so I used adrill bit depth stop.

Dan




dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.