Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Sep 18, 2005, 4:51 AM   #1

My P850 is 1 day old now :-). I took some pictures yesterday morning at dawn, and some others in a park in the afternoon and evening. I will post some pictures soon, but in the meantime hereare my first thoughts.

Let me begin by stating again that I am a novice photographer and digital camera user. With the P850 I'm trying to move from the point-and-click experience to a more rich one, in which I have (some) more advanced control over what I'm doing. While I did go to Best Buy and got my hands on a Canon S2 and a Sony DSC-H1, I don't have enough info and experience toreally compare the P850 with another camera in this class.

Here it goes:

- the LCD is very good, and very large. It was cloudy yesterday in the park, so I can't say how good it is in bright light,but still the image is very clear and the resolution quite good (even in low light condition)

- the 12X zoom is also an extraordinary experience for people used with 3X and 4X. You can disable the digital zoom in the menu, which I did, to make sure you are only using the optical. The manual says that the digital zoom is not available in video mode, even if it is enabled. It is true that while zooming, the image on the LCD is very blurry, and you can't see what you're doing - I think that this is because of theAF.

- the IS is also very good. Again, I cannot compare it with other IS systems from Cannon, Sony and others, but for someone who is using it for the first timethe results are quite impressive. I took some pictures with full optical zoom, and I could see on the LCD that my hand was really shaking :-). However, the pictures look very good.