Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 8, 2006, 8:38 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 696
Default

Am using a 6490 that I like a lot, but if I'm not at a certain distance the focus is not sharp. Thanks for any help. Will send a shot where the focus is ok.

Pablo
Attached Images
 
alandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 8, 2006, 9:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
bigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thach Alabama
Posts: 14,981
Default

Were you in normal mode, macro mode or landscape mode? What lens were attached. Where is the focus set, Multi-zone, center-zone or center spot? Were you using a tripod or hand held!

Dawg

Been missing you around here Pablo. Hope you had a happy new year!!
bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 9:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
dan279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,896
Default

Hi Pablo, good to see you! Just some thoughts on this--shutter speed of 1/15 seems pretty slow for anything that might move, I know cats can stay still but it seems like they must take a breathe in that time.Especially at near full zoom, its gonna show more. Check your cam settings, focus zone,exp metering zone,sometimes I forget this myself and its set at something I did last time.

Dan


dan279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 11:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 696
Default

Dawg: It was, normal mode, no attached lens, center zone and hand held.

Pablo
alandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 11:15 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 696
Default

Hi Dan, I guess mostly I'm "Point and Shoot" and am suprised it was 1/15, will check settings more often.

Pablo
alandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 4:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tommysdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 714
Default

Hiya Pablo, Iused to havethe same problem, I just set it on landscape mode, it seems to do the trick.

TD

I`ve been away for too long :G
tommysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 4:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thach Alabama
Posts: 14,981
Default

That's what I was going to suggest Pablo. Landscape mode puts you back to the days of the old box cameras and gives a focus to infinity! In other words it takes the auto focus out of it and as long as you're not too close it will be pretty much in focus!!

Dawg

bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 6:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 696
Default

Thanks for the "landscape Mode" info and yes you have been away too long TD, it's good to see you back in print.

Pablo
alandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 7:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
MrBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,245
Default

Good to see you back Pablo its been a while, Hope you are having good New Year. Wow T.D. and Pablo in the same post..

Mr Blue
MrBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 8:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thach Alabama
Posts: 14,981
Default

Ain't it amazing and wonderful. all we need is Wagaboo back on a regular basis and Dgehman and Marshy and brianhare and it'll be like old times!!

Dawg
bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:14 PM.