Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 23, 2006, 4:49 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Just read on Dpreview forum that the firmware update for P850 went live. http://www.kodak.com/global/en/servi...l?pq-path=7548

Autofocus and shutter lag is improved, but when the camera is turned off JPEG settings is switched to standard even when you used Fine quality....



Rudo
Rudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 23, 2006, 9:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
FaciaBrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 483
Default

I did the update on my P850.... Used the memory card method as I don't own the docking unit (can't imagine what I would ever use it for!). I'll test it tomorrow and see if I notice any differences.
FaciaBrut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 11:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
FaciaBrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 483
Default

So far I agree with Rudo... Low light autofocus seems quicker and better. Camera does revert back to standard JPEG when I turn off the camera.
FaciaBrut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 4:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Default

It was not my opinion (I don't own a P850), about the focus was written at the site of Kodak, and the JPEG settings was written at the DPreview forum....

I'm just reading through the different post of differents brands, to read the cons and pro's of diffrent camera's.

Rudo
Rudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
techgeek419's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 404
Default

i just installed the update, via USB cable. It seemed to be the easiest method.

Following update, everything appears to work fine, so far at least. Other than the jpg thing mentioned earlier whichisnt really an issue if you use standard for most shots anyway.

Kodak states on the download site:

Installing this firmware update for your camera will enable improvements in:
  • Reduced Shutter button lag for better picture taking performance. [/*]
  • Improved Auto Focus. [/*]
  • Improved Auto Exposure performance. [/*]
  • On camera Red-eye reduction in review mode.
    [/*]
Since I have not fully tested I can not make any valid conclusions of any notable improvements, but will keep you posted.


WAIT.. THERE"S MORE...

there is one another thing the update did.

Remember thethe highlight/shadow feature found during review, when toggling the INFO screen?
During this "mode" the image would BLINK an orange tone around the shadows or highlights.There was no mode incamera to viewimage ONLY.

NOW
you get IMAGE ONLY!!! (no blinking)

FANTASTIC!!!!!!

THANK YOU KODAK!! THANK YOU!!

------------------------------------
as discussed previously:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=18


techgeek419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 5:12 AM   #6
Member
 
KennyJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Rudo wrote:
Quote:
. . . but when the camera is turned off JPEG settings is switched to standard even when you used Fine quality....
Only in auto mode. In PASM and C modes your JPG quality settings are saved.
KennyJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 10:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
FaciaBrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 483
Default

I snapped a few random pics in the backyard and in the house this morning. The firmware update didn't turn my P850 into a Nikon D70 but it feels subjectively faster to focus and focuses more accurately indoors. Yeah, the thing about reverting back to Standard JPEG is only in Auto mode only and is a non-issue.
FaciaBrut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 7:01 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

techgeek419 wrote:
Quote:
Remember thethe highlight/shadow feature found during review, when toggling the INFO screen? During this "mode" the image would BLINK an orange tone around the shadows or highlights.There was no mode incamera to viewimage ONLY.

NOW
you get IMAGE ONLY!!! (no blinking)

FANTASTIC!!!!!!

THANK YOU KODAK!! THANK YOU!!

------------------------------------
as discussed previously:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=18



I have this problems too... Seem like it will be solved updating this firmware !!

That's GREAT !!
fnscasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2006, 8:07 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Yes, the camera performs better..... but on page 43 of the manual it states that once the file type setting has been changed the change remains until the user changes it again. This auto reset of the file type to standard is a boken.
Bubbaji is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:36 PM.