Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Feb 26, 2006, 9:04 PM   #1

I was in a Walmart today that had a Canon, Sony and Kodak 6X4" Dye-Sub Printers on display. For curiousities sake I opened each printer's catridge door and looked at the cartidge bay configuration. Believe it or not they were all exactly the same configuration and probably means the cartridges are interchangeable. That means I can shop for the lowest priced cartridge for my Kodak PD3. I work in retail, my guess is probly one or two companies make the cartridges for all the small Dye-Sub Printer for all the different brands. It is not very uncommon in the industry. Look at LCD Monitors, only about 4 to 5 companies manufactures the worlds supply of LCD Panels. Same as memory chips only about 4 companies manufacture the worlds supply of memory chips. Next time I am at Walmart I have a friend in the Electronics Section, I will ask him if I can try inserting and trying out a used Sony or Canon Cartridge in a Kodak PD3 or vise versa.
ken68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2006, 10:12 PM   #2

ken-

Your observation certainly seems logical. Give us a report as your investigation progresses.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 10:23 PM   #3

Will do, but will probably be next Sunday, Sunday is the only day off from my work.
Old Feb 26, 2006, 11:20 PM   #4