Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Mar 10, 2006, 11:01 AM   #1

Greetings!

I've done considerable searching within this forum prior to posting my first question as a newbie here, so I hope this isn't something commonplace that I missed. I've also gone through at least 150 reviews of this camera at Amazon and Epinion in an attempt to find one person with similar symptoms. I've also done as much Google searching as possible with various search terms. My one concrete Google result was this great forum!

The usual applause for the DX6490 here. Prior to this latest issue, I did have one dropped-camera problem, which was corrected by sending it in to a factory-authorized repair center. Turns out whatever board is inside must have been jolted out of it's socket. I swore if that happened again I'd take the little monster apart myself to reseat the board, as I've rebuilt computers from the ground up and could certainly reseat something. Since then this unit has functioned as expected for quite a while, through thousands of shots.

Now on to my current problem. A couple weeks ago I was outside taking pictures (temps were in the high 30's/low 40's and I've taken pics in colder temps with no problem). The camera was working fine in all respects through at least 6-8 shots, including Review function. I had occasion to open the flash to get more light into an enclosed, dark area, but when I pushed the button to take the picture I heard a fairly audible "SNAP" inside the camera and all functions ceased. The lens remained extended, the LCD went dark and the only sign of life since has been the flash (10 times) of the green light when I rotate the control dial from OFF to any other mode.