Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Apr 15, 2003, 7:53 AM   #1

Default Kodak DX4330 and the Moon question

Hi all,

Probably a dumb quesiton but I'd like to know how I can take pictures of the moon with my Kodak DX4330 3.1mp. I hope it is possible maybe with a filter of some sort? I'm a newbie when it comes to Dig Cameras.

If I try take pictures of the moon right now that come up as a big blur -- See below:

Thanks very much!

Cheers,

Jon

EDIT -- I tried another shot with extending the exposure for 4 seconds, here's what I got: (i cut a bit out)

ANOTHER EDIT -- Well, I guess I need a more professional dig camera if I want to take pics of the moon & stars. Oh well! Your feedback is welcome though
mistajon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2003, 9:07 PM   #2

dont see your pics

For night shot I would try the longest exposure the camera has. Try and experiment with long exposures and different iso values. I don't know too much about film cameras but I believe some guys keep the shutter open for minutes when taking picutres of stars or the moon.
kschewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2003, 8:09 PM   #3

I saw the moon tonight and couldn't resist experimenting a bit with my own DX4330. I don't see your picture above but I am assuming it was a full moon which is probably too bright for the camera to handle properly.

Take a look at this picture (reduced in size):

This was taken using the "Landscape" mode which forces the focus to infinity and with the flash off. This was also using the digital zoom to the maximum 10X and with no changes to default settings. A steady hold is required, though.

Another one:

This one was also taken using Landscape mode with the flash off but the exposure was forced to 2 seconds and I used the self timer to avoid moving the camera while pressing the shutter.