Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Jun 11, 2006, 9:37 PM   #1

Okay, I'm a new photographer buying my very first camera... pretty exciting stuff. And a good sale on the P850 has caught my eye (at least it's a good sale where I live). So anyways, I want to know from people who own a P850 already what I should expect. What do you think it's good at and what is it not so good at? Bear in mind that I'm a beginner so I'm not so worried about all the mega complicated stuff, I just want to know if I can take some nice clear pictures.

I take pictures almost exclusively outdoors, I like landscapes as well as close ups of animals or flowers. My lighting ranges from a cloudy day to bright sunshine and possible a tiny bit of night stuff. I would also like to be able to take nice pictures of people, but I don't care if this is the best camera for it, just usable.
Morag2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 12, 2006, 12:58 AM   #2

Good question that i wouldn't mind seeing the answer to. I've bought the same camera that should turn up in the post today:-)

:-)
All i was looking for when i bought the camera was one with a large zoom that wasn't over complicated and that i could just pick up and take with me where ever i wanted to go. It will be used on holiday for snaps, plus general use at home.
12noon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2006, 3:47 PM   #3

Greetings Morag,

From the needs you expressed, it sounds to me that you would enjoy the camera, especially if you are going to get a good deal.

The P850 offers a lot of nice features and presently at some good prices. I particularly like the flash connector and shoe as well as the IS to steady my shots. But, since I like candid kinds of things, kids in action, the flash is a plus for me. The camera has a relatively fast click to capture ratio - .3 Seconds. The long lens is a plus of course and it goes hand in hand with the Image Stability feature.