Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Aug 3, 2006, 8:32 AM   #1

Hi everybody.

My first post... Better post a little introduction first.

Okay so I'm a club photographer from Manchester. Basically I go to supporting bars and clubs taking photographs of the clubbers which are then published on their websites.

I've tried various cameras during the last 12 months. In fact, I'm now on my 8th. Until recently, the objective was to find something small enough to fit into my pocket, but with enough power to take good quality, bright colourful and clear images in very low-light conditions.

Some camera performed better than others in those conditions, but lacked any real power, whilst others were good for general use but below average in the low-light environment.

Now, with a greater demand on quality and less priority on compact size, I decided to purchase a slightly bigger, more powerful camera, although I don't think I'm quite ready for a full DSLR.

With this in mind, having read various reviews online, I opted for the P880.
It arrived early this morning and I wasted no time in putting it to the test.

Having tested it in various daylight conditions, I have to say I'm not greatly impressed.

The first thing I noticed was the loud noise made by the hunting auto-focus. In all fairness I had read that this was a problem on other reviews however I hadn't imagened it would be so bad as it actually is.

The next thing which came to my attention was a single blue pixel just slightly to the the right-center of the LCD. At first glance I thought this may be a faulty LCD, but I noticed that the same pixel is also there when you switch to viewfinder.
I'm wondering is this a fault or does that rouge pixel actually serve some special purpose?
Either way, little things such as this really get on my nerves and I could quite happily live without it.