Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Nov 3, 2003, 5:08 PM   #1

Default Is this NOISE?... horrible, horrible

I just purchased my Z1 - after reviewing pretty much everything ever written about digcams....

Now, I know I'm asking a LOT of this camera - but I have been using a Sony DSC-032 for 2 years and it has been able to handle things great.

I began testing the camera Saturday Night. I shoot at an indoor race track - it isn't too brightly lit, so auto-focus is tough. I used both auto and manual focus - 90% of the time the autofocus didn't work.

I used the built in flash to illuminate the scenes - but it has a limited range .... I stand between 6 and 20 feet from the Karts... so I have always used a large SunPak 550 to supplement the lighting - I fire it off with a peanut slave.

How I used to shoot compared with how I was testing. With my Nikon I would use the 1024 x with a setting of Fine - everything else in auto mode (forced Flash on high) - and I got some GREAT images. With the Z1 I used Auto - EEEEEK - Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Sports Mode, Vivid Color. As I only have a 256 card and I shoot between 200-500 shots an event, I kept it at the 1280x960 at Fine quality - which should be a CONSIDERABLY better photo than the 1.3 megapixel sony.....right?

I'm posting a bunch of photos from the sony and the minolta on my site so you can see the difference.... I have tried really hard to compare apples to apples - searching fro images that were taken under the same conditions and from the same locations.....

The karts move very fast - about 70-mph - and as you can imagine there is a horrendous amount of dust and smoke in the air and often times dust and flying dirt appear as "Ghosts Orbs" and the smoke will tend too wash out a photo.... so I can live with all of this.