Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Dec 7, 2003, 2:28 PM   #1

Default New Minolta A1 Camera

Greetings,

I am now a proud owner of the Minolta DImage A1 camera. I did visit this sight last winter in hopes of being able to decide on which digital camera to purchase. I became overwhelmed with the multitude of choices and did not purchase a camera. My choices were a Nikkon 5700 or this Minolta amongst a few other choices. I finally took the plunge and purchased the Minolta.

I thought, reading through the manual that came with the camera, would enable me to operate the camera with very positive results. However, I am new to cameras and the manual discusses operation in a high level overview using camera terminology that I am not familiar with.

I assumed this camera was considered a point and shoot. In my mind that meant the camera would automatically focus on objects. I do not see my lense moving in or out and the only way I can seem to have the camera autofocus is by holding down the shutter release button for a couple seconds before you can take the picture. I am afraid with the amount of time it takes to focus on an object I might lose out on some exciting photographs. I did know that the camera could also be operated in a manual mode for the experts. (this would be something I may use in the very far future)

I really want to get good and take some breath taking photos. However, I am going to need something more than the manual provided with the camera.

1. Is there a really good book available that is written in a manner that I could learn the photographers language as well as become efficient in the use of this camera. Something like Minolta Digital photography for dummies. (Not meant to slight my intelligence, just meant to bring it down to my level until I can become more familiar with cameras.)