Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Jun 16, 2004, 3:17 PM   #1

I recently bought a Z2 and was disappointed to find that the sound lags behind the pictures in movie mode by about half a second. the impressive specs of the movie mode facility was one the the things that made up my mind to get it.
Does anyone know of a fix for this, or alternatively a way of fixing the movies afterwards. I think they are quicktime movies. If they were mgp's i would already know a way of fixing them.
Tinsnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 16, 2004, 10:24 PM   #2

I haveread of this problem a number of times on the web but have never experience myself. I have been shooting video with my Z2 for several months using both the 640 modeat 30 frames and the 800 mode at 15 frames with no problems. I just took a video now and looked hard for any lag and still don't see it. Maybe its the speed of the card used. I usea Minolta recommended 256 Meg Panasonic card which is supposed to one of the faster SD cards on the market.
Kilbride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 3:36 AM   #3

Yeah i have concluded that it could be the SD card. I haven't bought an SD card yet, i was just using it with the suppiled 16meg panasonic SD card. (camera only arrived yesterday)
But before investing in the more expensive fast memory i wanted to see if any others have experienced this.

Maybe someone can tell me if they get lag with the supplied 16 meg card. I expect a lot of you haven't even used that
Old Jun 18, 2004, 5:52 AM   #4

I found the 16 meg card that came with the Z2 and shot serveral movies using it. I closely review them several times and still found no sound lag.

I know some Z2 were sold with an older version of firmware that affected the movie mode. Perhaps yours is one of them. I believe the current version is 102. If you have an older version you should upgrade for a number ofimprovements anyways.