Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Feb 3, 2005, 12:24 PM   #1

Hi all. I've been reading this forum for a few days, and it's great. There are still a couple of unanswered questions/clarifications I'd like to get.

First, my background is that I've used a Nikon CP 4500 for several years now (the nikon 990 and 900 before that). I'm going to dedicatethe 4500to my microscope and get another digicam for general use. I really like the speed and low noise of the DSLRs, but I don't like the bulk of carrying around all the accessories. The Pano FZ20 looks real nice, but the sensor size and video mode are too small.

After looking carefully at all the options, the A200 and A2 are the cameras I'm going to choose from. The 800x600 movie mode of the A200 catch my attention, but I like lots of things to futz with, so I lean toward the A2.

1. The high res EVF of the A2 looks very practical, but the biggest utility for it seems to be to help in manual focussing. Is the EVF resolution of the A2 higher than the LCD monitor resolution of the A200? If not, then the need for the high res EVF of the A2 goes away I think.

2. The A2 and A200 manual focus assist magnifications appear to be x3.3 (down from x8 of the A1). Is this enough magnification to be of practical use for manual focussing. If not, then I get colder on the high res EVF.

3. I see that the AEL can also lock focus on the A2. Is this true of the A200? This could be real nice if it allows one to autofocus with a high contrast card at the distance of interest, and then hold that focus for all exposures until disabled. Does it work this way in practice?

4. What is the quality of movie audio? Is it rich and full or tinny? My kids Canon A60 has incredible audio, but my Nikon 4500 has tinny audio.

5. Is there a way to remotely trigger the A2's shutter (besides the intervalometer?) The IR remote of the A200 looks to win here.