Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 28, 2005, 2:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Greetings,

I recently started a new job as a web manager. One responsibility I have is to photograph new products when we get them (maybe once a month). When I started, the photostudio was already set up, and I haven't had any problems until today. First I will describe the setup then the problem. Any help you folks could give would be greatly appreciated!

Setup:

2 Travelite 750 external flashs - one hard-synced master, one slaved

Minolta Dimage 7Hi

The camera was setup professionally for this rig, and I have simply been turning it on, recalling memory 1, and getting great results. I was able to see the image clearly on the LCD, and also getting clean images.

Problem:

Today, without any apperant cause (external flash settings are unchanged), the images are washing... that is to say, being captured almost entirely white. The camera is stored in a secure room and to my knowledge there's no way the settings have been changed. I read through the manual and messed with ISO, Shutter and F Stop settings but haven't been able to get a good image as well as see a clear preview image in the view finder. If I increase the shutter speed, I get a good image, but can't see to focus, and if I decrease the shutter speed I can see to focus but get a washed image...what did I do? What should I do!



Thanks in advance!
stringtheorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2005, 2:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

stringtheorist wrote:
Quote:
If I increase the shutter speed, I get a good image, but can't see to focus, and if I decrease the shutter speed I can see to focus but get a washed image...what did I do? What should I do!
The probable reason is the camera viewer/LCD is switched into WYSIWYG mode, whichshows you the actual exposion resultwhithout flash.
In this case If you see a good preview whithout the flash, then the pic is over exposed and you got all white with the flash burst.


Try to set a "conventionnal" speed , let say 1/125 or 1/250 for example, and a very small aperture (high F number) , in manual mode, then adjust the aperture to get the correct exposition.

Also Diseable the WYSIWIG mode, ie: set the viewer/LCD to theautomatic mode, which do not reflect the real exposition, but always give you a clear preview.


KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 3:31 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Awesome.Thanks for the quick response! As you can tell I'm sure, I'm by no means a photography expert (or even amateur for that matter); I can editphotos with the best, but taking them is a new experience. I'm going to try your suggestions now.

Thanks again!
stringtheorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 3:45 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Hey... went back there and did what you said. It worked perfectly! Thank ya!
stringtheorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 7:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

You are welcome, FYI,that's a wonderfull featuresince the 7i:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=20


KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.