Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old May 29, 2005, 10:24 AM   #1

I have been using A200 for about 3 months... and was quite happy with it until recently when I started to take photos of landscape.

I was shocked to see that A200 turns trees and other delicate objects into muddy and noisy patches which remind me of watercolor painting rather than a photograph. I tried all apertures and ISO and contras settings. I found out it has nothing to do with focus either... It seems that it is the noise that destroys most of the details of distant objects even at ISO 50.

Also white balance needs corrections in more than 50 percent of nature shots and resonably accurate colours are achieved only by custom setting... which can be a pain in the neck if you have to act quickly not to miss a shot.

My "point and shoot" 7Mpixel Canon S70 takes far more superior and detailed pictures (apart from purple fringing)...

I am very frustrated and will try to get rid of A200 very soon if I dont find the way to fix it. Do you have similar experience?
Attached Images

maros is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2005, 10:27 AM   #2

oops... disappointment!:arrow:
Old May 29, 2005, 10:54 AM   #3

It looks like you have a defective camera. If it's relatively new, return it to the dealer for a new one.
Old May 29, 2005, 11:11 AM   #4

I don't think there is anything wrong with the camera... It is capable of taking wonderful pictures if your subject is not too far away... but still that noise. There is another (typical picture)... at ISO 100

Attached Images

Old May 29, 2005, 3:55 PM   #5
stk

Maros,

Just out of interest, what level of crop are these shots? I would like to try and do a comparison with my A200. Also, what aperture, focal length? Have you tried a comparison in Raw?