Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Jun 10, 2005, 11:08 AM   #1

I hate to ask this, but since I haven't followed the newer models here goes.
I have a Dimage 7hi and found out what most others said; it's noisey. I'm not a professional photpgrapher, but AFAIC, it has a noisy image even at a fixed ISO100. This isn't news, I know.
Now, have the newer models corrected this at all?
What has changed with the 3 or 4 successors to this model?

I know it was the A1, then the A2, but just what after that?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2005, 12:40 PM   #2
Administrator

Newer models include the A1, A2 and A200.

I personally don't think there is a substantial difference between noise levels going from the 7HI to the A1 when looking at comparison images. You can look at the samples in the reviews here and judge for yourself.

One thing to be aware of, is that the KM models usingaSony5MP 2/3" CCD appear to be about 2/3stop more sensitive than their rated ISO speed. So, this can make them look like they've got a bit higher noise, when in fact, it's a bit lower than most competitors (if their competitors ISO speed is adjusted to the same real sensitivity to light).

The newest8MPmodels (A2, A200) are probably worse at the same ISO speeds compared to the 5MP models.

Although the newer KM models are better than some of their competitors using the Sony 8MP 2/3" CCD, this is a relatively high noise sensor. Given that you've got 8 versus 5 Megapixels to work with, this may be an acceptable compromise to many users that need the higher resolution -- especially with advances in noise reduction software, and given that noise is not as noticeable at lower resolution viewing sizes.