Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 20, 2005, 3:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 140
Default

hey guys. i just bought KM A200 and i'm starting to get used to the camera.
i've tried to do some fast shots with the shutter at 1/1600 but the final image was very dark. am i doing something wrong? tried to increse aperture lens but still dark images... can someone help me please?

thanks
D3v1l is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2005, 3:44 PM   #2
Member
 
105sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

That is a very fast shutter speed to be using. Even with the aperture wide open, you would need a heck of a lot of light to capture a well exposed image. Not sure if you were just experimenting, but don't think you would ever need to shoot at 1/1600.



I'm glad you are liking the a200. I've had mine for about 2 months and love it!
105sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 3:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 140
Default

wow.... i thought that the shutter speed was used to freeze images... never thought i would need more light. allways learning
so what speed do u think i should use to freeze a car for example?1/400?
thanks
D3v1l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 5:19 PM   #4
stk
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Hi

You can shoot at 1/1600 but as said you need bright conditions. The best way to check is as long as the Speed and aperture in the EVF are not red, you are OK. If aperture turns red (which I suspect it did) then there's not enough light.

Haven't taken pictures of cars (and I guess its also how close they are and how fast they go), but my guess would be around 1/125-1/250th if you can pan well. Maybe 1/500th or faster if you don't pan.

Cheers
Steve


Edited to remove HTML tags that got in somehow!
stk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 5:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 140
Default

thanks a lot for the hints
i have only one more question: wich focus mode is best? flex focus?
D3v1l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2005, 2:39 AM   #6
stk
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Spotand Flex work best.

I don't think there is a difference in focussing area size between them, just that flex is more 'flexible' (!) in positioning and can be associated with the the spot metering.

Cheers
Steve


stk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2005, 6:28 AM   #7
stk
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

One more thought, if you use the slower shutter speeds to get some motion blur in the background, I would turn off antishake. I'm not sure at what speed it cuts in, butthe cameracould get very confused trying to compensate for panning and upset the panning smoothness as well!

Good luck - would be interested to see your results.

Cheers
Steve
stk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2005, 2:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 140
Default

hey. thanks for the hints
at the moment i don'w have time to use the camera very often, and all i have is my first attempt to "catch" the moon. not big deal but with time i'll do better
Attached Images
 
D3v1l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2005, 2:49 PM   #9
stk
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Not bad

Cheers
Steve
stk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.