Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Jun 27, 2005, 2:06 PM   #1

Hello to All:

I'm new here and also new to my Dimage A200. I'm having problems capturing action shots and would appreciate your thoughts and suggestions.

Let me give an example: My husband drag races and I wanted to get some shots of him and his car going down the track. When his car came into frame, I pushed the "shoot" button but by the time the photo was taken he was long gone out of the frame. In reading other posts on the website, I may need to "follow and/or pan" him down the track and try to get shots that way, but I was wondering if changing my shutter speed may help me out. I love taking photos and my last "film" camera was pretty much a point and shooter -- didn't have to mess with shutter speeds,etc. Essentially, I'm a novice when it comes to dealing with all the gizmos on this digi camera. Any help and suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks, Dena:bye:
DenaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2005, 7:41 PM   #2

Hi there Dena. Don't own the A200. I think you're experiencing shutter lag (gap between the time you press and the time when the camera actually takes the picture). For drag racing in particular, you should pan and also point your camera a little ahead of the moving car to make up for the shutter lag. Also, it generally easier to take a picture of an object moving towards or away from you rather than an object crossing the field of view of the camera.

Hope this helps. Looking forward to your drag racing pics.

Nols

Minolta Z3

Pentax *istDs
Nols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2005, 1:19 PM   #3

Use continuous shooting mode to take several photos in sequence to improve chance of getting good photo of moving target.

For example I took this photo of this attacking seagull in HS continuous mode. Shutter speed was 1/1600.

FP

KM A200
Attached Images

Frank Pappa is offline   Reply With Quote