Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Jan 25, 2003, 9:35 PM   #1

Default DHi vs. CP5700 WYSIWYG and other issues

Hello all.

I have been reading these forums and I know this topic has been beat to death but I still have a few questions I would appreciate "unbiased" (if possible) answers too:

I am a designer and want to get a versitle camera that will allow me to impliment quality photos in my designs. I am in no way a "pro" photographer although I do have a good understanding of photography and know my way around a camera. ( I have been shooting with an FM2 for 7 years.)

I want to use this camera to do the following:

- Shoot close up product shots with a macro setting
- Take panoramic landsacpe shots
- Take action shots of sports such as skateboarding, snowboarding, bullriding etc.
-Take action shots of people in everyday life
-Portrait shots
-I want to be able to build a stock photography website to sell photos
-Shoot textures for "mapping" in 3D programs
-Take photos of buildings and cityscapes

Detail and colour accuracy are very important to me. As well as speed. I want to be able to take a shot as it is presented without a delay.

Here are a few questions of concern:

1. Does either of the two cameras LCD's display the image as WYSIWYG? And if so does it apply when settings or filters are used?

2. Which camera has a better MACRO function?

3. Which camera performs better taking action shots?

4. Is there a noticable difference in the time it takes to manually focus with the DHi's focus ring than with the manual focus buttons of the CP5700?

5. Since I will be taking a variety of photos in a variety of settings and conditions which camera in the end will give me the best image quality?