Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kyocera / Yashica

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18, 2006, 8:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Sandisk support site suggest the M410R may support a 2Gb SD card

http://www.sandisk.com/Compatibility...cam_M410R.aspx



May 23rd

The reply from Kyocera support for the M410R -

Maximum size SD card is 2GB

Max



maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2006, 1:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Kyocera Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 694
Default

http://www.kyoceraimaging.com/prodfa...itemnum=300390

says the M410R takes largest card currently available on the market .....but when was "current" and what was available then? 512MB or 1GB or .......?

Only one way to find out for sure ....anyone stumped up fora 2 or 4GB yet?

Cheers, KK.

p.s. If one were to use the camera for super-long movies, without a break, I suppose they might need more thanone pack of 4 AA's! Probably a mains power supply or a big 6V SLA and some means of keeping the camera cool from all that heat!

Kyocera Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2006, 3:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 126
Default

My thoughts exactlyon the 'battery problem', KK !

Does anyoneknow ofanexternal power pack you can use withthis camera??much cheaper than the one listed below!!

I found out Lexar list the maximum SD cardat 2GB.

And I think that's what it will be. Rollei UK suggestedI contact Nucoretech who made the high speed image processing system for both theM410R and the Rollei 4010

Will let you know the reply.

Max




The QB1 compact is a convenient 6v battery pack that can be mounted underneath your camera and will provide power for hundreds of shots on your hotshoe mounted flash or extended operating time for your digital camera.



[align=left]6V NiMH cell, rechargeable power pack with UK charger. QB1c has two output sockets, one for "X" modules and one for "M" modules (see QB1+ accessories).[/align]
[align=left][/align]
[align=left]Price £134[/align]

maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2006, 5:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Kyocera Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Cheap 6v SLA from Maplin (or elsewhere)and a suitable lead from the same place? Bulky ... but cheap and effective. For example ...I'm not necessarily plugging these parts ...... there may be better ..........

UD07H 6V 10ah SLA £9.99 (sometimes on offer for £5.99)
LJ92A 6V 500mA SLA Chrgr £9.99 (20hr charge time)

AQ81C DC Ouput Lead £0.99
AQ89W 5 x 2.5mm power plug £0.49 (I think this is the right one)

(maybe a fuse too .....?) all less than £25 ....and maybe even <£20?



[align=left][/align]


[align=left]Or .... DIY along the lines of this one.

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=19

Instead of AA's, you could get holders for 4xC or even 4xD cells (9 to 10AH nowI hear!). Leather pouch is optional![/align]


[align=left]HF95D Cx4 Battery Holder PP3 clip £0.69
NE19V Rigid PP3 Clip £0.29[/align]

[align=left]or[/align]

[align=left]JK34M Dx4 solder tag £0.79[/align]

[align=left]plus[/align]

[align=left]AQ81C DC Ouput Lead £0.99
AQ89W 5 x 2.5mm power plug £0.49 (I think this is the right one)[/align]

[align=left]and ........[/align]

[align=left]4 x 4500mAHC cells approx £16[/align]

[align=left]or ........[/align]

[align=left]4 x 9000mAH D cells approx £25[/align]

[align=left]Charger approx £20-£25[/align]

[align=left](maybe a fuse too .....?) all for £35 to £50
I kid thee not about cooling ....you might need a little computer fan to stop the camera stewing!

Cheers, KK
[/align]
Kyocera Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2006, 6:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Headline - MAN BURNS HANDS AT RACES WITH HOT BRICK

Yes, KKI believe you about the heat. Most likely you would need the convenience ofa power pack if you have the camera on a tripod and there wouldn't be sufficient timetaking it off for an AA battery change.

I will check Maplin out. The components are so cheap it would be worth buildinga pack to have around for the one timeextra power will makethe difference.

For cheap one time use battery option would ALKALINE C or D cells work OK?

Thanks for your help

Max
maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2006, 6:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kyocera Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 694
Default

"For cheap one time use battery option would ALKALINE C or D cells work OK?"

Don't see why not ....if AA alks work inside the camera they will work outside and so should anything with a greater capacity, as long as they are capable of providing the current as well as the voltage. Good quality alks will do the trick in a "one time" situation.

Cheers, KK.
Kyocera Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2006, 6:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 126
Default

KK, This 7.2V Li-ion unit from Maplin was posted in the Panasonic board

£32. only 2000mAh?? Seems very expensive for the capacity. And would be overvoltage, no?

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...=&doy=15m2

Good alkalines would seem the shot for occasional use.

For the cost to buy 4 rechargeables c or d cells plus charger you have half the price of another M410R camera on ebay!!

The reply from Kyocera support for the M410R -

max size SD card is 2GB


Max



maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:07 AM.