Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Landscape Photos

Old Jul 20, 2003, 5:40 PM   #1

Default Lanscape problem! Advice needed!

Are there any tricks to taking lanscape photoes that I do not know of?

I look forward to your comments
Soundengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2003, 11:42 PM   #2

Unfortunately for you, I am no expert here... or really have any experience with landscapes. I have read a little bit about "nature photography" which includes what you were doing, though.

The only thing I remember was that you shouldn't be afraid to put the human element into the picture. Be it a building, a person... whatever. It shows our connection to the scene, which can be used as a powerful statement. It could be an oil tanker in front of an oil slick covered shore or a person diving into a beautiful, smooth lake. Think about what you are trying to convey with the picture and then use what is around you (even your bike!) to bring that picture about.

Also, the human element adds an aspect of scale and connection that the viewer can view them and understand more of what they are seeing… and see themselves there. It’s easy to imagine myself in the picture with the dock… I stand on docks all the time. (And I’d love to have been there!)

Some of your pictures are only for you. They are to remind you of what you saw and where you went. Others are taken to show people something specific that you want to convey. Those are much harder to make.