Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Landscape Photos

Old Sep 25, 2002, 2:08 PM   #1

Default Moon Rise Over Lake Powell

Drove into Utah 27 miles in 4WD vehicle. It took almost 2 hours each way, but what a view. Navajo Mountain in the background. Not much done in PS yet.

[Edited on 9-30-2002 by scorpio_fish]
scorpio_fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2002, 6:19 AM   #2

Looks like a fine pics, if you did some more work with it. However the moon (?) looks like a bad manipulation...IF it is, you could use the render/light options in photoshop instead! Just an friendly advice!
Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2002, 2:09 PM   #3

I tried to do some tweaking. Any sharpening seemed to give the moon a dark halo. I tried to get the halo out in Photoshop with only modest success. I'm still a novice in PS.
scorpio_fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2002, 4:48 PM   #4

i find nothing really wrong with this image. remember it is a photograph. a slice of time. there are many things PS can do. a lot of people do too much and turn a good photo into bad artwork.

what you can do is bracket your shots to start. you might want to take 3 to 6 shots over a range of 1-2 stops and see what you get. for that long a ride in shoot shoot shoot.
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2002, 5:16 PM   #5

http://www.pbase.com/image/5350131

Some people would think that this was a little overdone - I agree - but then again - its a matter of taste - and time used.

To my old buddy (not sure you agree there!) SJMS:

Photoshop, PSP, Polfilter, skyfilter...remember your own words when you turn your polfilter the next time.
I agree that you can overdo things, but when you do that - some would call it digiart!
Old Oct 1, 2002, 10:18 AM   #6

here Klaus DK

when good PS projects go bad

http://www.pbase.com/image/5382137
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2002, 10:32 AM   #7