Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Landscape Photos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 31, 2004, 8:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

For interests sake, here is a quote from Webshots Help Page:

I used to be able to link images from the Webshots Community to other websites, but now it's not working. Why?
Due to abuse, you can no longer display Webshots images on other websites. You can only view Webshots images from Webshots pages and within the Webshots software. Alternatively, you can post a link to the page that contains the image you'd like to display.
So that makes that one clear.

pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 9:02 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
aladyforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,964
Default

I would try photobucket to store your photos, Ive never had a problem.
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 9:32 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
geoffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,025
Default

John - here's a test of the picture upload from my end via the Browse... facility. I resized the image to 640x479, saving in JPEG from PSE2 at quality 9 to produce the final result of about 180kb. (I did do some contrast enhancement and USM)


Attached Images
 
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 10:57 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

Well, that's great Geoffs, sure enough there is my pic for the world to see - and no purple patches on my moniter :lol:.

Sothe problemmust be the settings on my PC !?!

Let's have one more go . . . Following you step-by-step I have opened the image in Photoshop Limited Edition 5.0, resized it to 640x479, saved it as a JPG - level 9, and for me this has produced afile of 140kb.

Right, here goes . . .
Attached Images
 
pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 11:03 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

Foiled again

Another thought - not sure what it can have to do with it, but some months ago I solved a problem by switching off the pop-up blocker in Google Toolbar.

So that is now disabled and . . .
Attached Images
 
pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 11:10 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

OK, now I have set both Privacy and Security Levels to Low in Internet Options.
Attached Images
 
pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 11:14 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

???????????????
pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 2:48 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
geoffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,025
Default

John, just as an experiment, try saving to hard disk the picture of yours that I posted. Do this by right-clicking on the picture and selecting the context menu option, "Save Picture As...". Then, go ahead and post this picture in a new message to this thread, uploading the picture via the Browse... button in the message compose dialog.
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 4:29 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

OK Geoff, let's try it
Attached Images
 
pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 4:33 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
pjohnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 168
Default

Two other things I have thought of, first I am going to try with a different Internet Browser (Avant Browser) . . .
Attached Images
 
pjohnc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:35 PM.