Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Member's & Family Photos

Old Feb 3, 2006, 10:02 PM   #1

just getting started in photography .... any comments about this image? Hope I resized it correctly.

Thanks
Attached Images

drewaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2006, 9:35 PM   #2

This is a nice photo of a pretty young woman. It is a bit small for the file size, though. I would recommend resizing to around 700 - 800 pixels width, then adjusting quality level as necessary to get file size < 245Kb.

I expect Phoenix has grown a bit since I last lived there. Metro area had just reached a million population.:-)

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 9:40 PM   #3

hey brian, thanks for the reply.* I'm new to ps elements 3 and am having trouble figuring out how to resize .....* there seem to be 2 variables ...* resolution and pixels ....* any quick tutorials that you know of?yeah, phoenix has grown too big.* when were you here?drew
Old Feb 6, 2006, 11:01 PM   #4

I like her facial expression and how her arms are at her sides. Just one thing, Her cheek seems just a tiny bit too shiny. Maybe it's just me? I don't know....
walterd93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 12:51 AM   #5

drewaz wrote:
Quote:
hey brian, thanks for the reply. I'm new to ps elements 3 and am having trouble figuring out how to resize ..... there seem to be 2 variables ... resolution and pixels .... any quick tutorials that you know of?yeah, phoenix has grown too big. when were you here?drew
To size for posting here, you use a two-step process. First, resize to pixel dimensions, then 'save as' . When you tell it to save, you get a dialog box with quality slider at top. At the bottom, is the file size and approx time to transmit at a speed, which you can select. The file size is what you need to watch. Just set slider to give file size of < 245Kb. I find it can be pretty high, say around 10 or even 11, for a 750x580 image.