Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Jan 9, 2007, 10:30 PM   #1

Just got Fuji S9100.

I was going to get a CF card. I see them on sale for $20-30 for 1g, but they don't say how 'fast' they are. Does it really matter to a non-professional?

Is there a difference between Type 1 and Type 2? Is a CF card the same thing as a microdrive?

Manual directs you to Fuji site for info on what kind of CF cards are compatible, but table only likes xD and microdrives. ??

If you can't tell, I am new to digital!

Thank you!

poppop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2007, 12:04 AM   #2
Administrator

CF is much more reliable than a Microdrive and flash memory is so cheap nowadays. The S9100 can handle any CF up to 2GB with no problems. A good 80x or faster card will serve you well.

See our page about memory cards:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/flash_memory.html#cf

steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 11:19 PM   #3

Thank you - the page on memory cards was very helpful!
Old Jan 12, 2007, 11:49 PM   #4

Right now B&H is selling the Ultra II one gig card for $21.95 and the Extreme III one gig card for $39.95. I use both and bothare very fast cards. For the money the Ultra II is a great value! The extreme III is a bit faster but unless shooting in extreme temps or needing multiple bursts I don't know if you would need it. If $ isn't an issue get the Extreme III's.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...amp;Submit.y=6

Happy shooting!

Trique Daddi
Trique Daddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2007, 5:11 AM   #5

Go with the CF card. I use a 2gb microdrive and i know one day the thing will die out on me or i'll drop it or do something else stupid. The read/write speeds on micodrives are usually just shy of 20mb/s which is fine for a Rebel XT but not for higher end cameras.