Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Jul 1, 2003, 2:56 PM   #1

Default MicroDrive in D7i and PDA

it appears i have made a bad choice..... i have been using my ibm microdrive for about 6 months now, since i got my D7i and have had no problems......

then i got a Dell Axim PDA, tried out the MicroDrive in the Axim to see if it would work like advertised and it did.

but, when i put my microdrive back into the D7i, NO LONGER RECOGNIZED....

I had a 256mb CF card i had used to transfer some files from desktop to PDA, and experienced the same problem.

Anyone else had this happen ???

and any suggestions? have alread re-formated the CF card to no avail.....

jimb
jboller4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2003, 4:34 PM   #2

Quote:
it appears i have made a bad choice.......
Read some of my earlier posts.

The 'bad choice' was probably trying to run your MD in the PDA which might have written to it in a different format. You could have had a similar experience with CF.

Digicam Media uses the older 16Bit FAT. Digicams also format by putting on their own directory structure. Often they object to seeing the wrong format and sometimes other directories/files where they expect their own. Just deleting from PC doesn't always fix this either because the data is still in the card file structure. That's where cardwipe utilities can help by cleaning out the card BUT I've not messed with my MD yet and tried this.

This is a copy (some unrecogniseable text) of the first logical sector (0) of my working 1Gb MD, captured using WinHex: Apologies to everybody else!

<?*w~98IHC @   ? ? @ ? ?
? )z?MICRODRIVE FAT16 3?м |x 67VS>| E?|?M?G>|ry39|t?|? |*|&||||? P|?R|I|?K| &|? |HI|?K| ?R|P|? r r? }u
? t?}_ 3^??DXXX?GHH?
|2I|K|  PRQ: rذT YZXr ?  |?.|?$|?I|K| p
t) ;|s6|?O|36|?%|M|ô?M|
6O|???$|?6%|
Non-System disk or disk error
Replace and press any key when ready
IBMBIO COMIBMDOS COM U